Friday, March 14, 2014

1995 : Canada Day - Group of Seven

On June 29, 1995, Canada Post Corporation (CPC) issued a set of 10 stamps honouring the 75th anniversary of the first "Group of Seven" exhibition at the Art Gallery of Ontario. According to CPC, the artists developed a style of landscape painting with bright, bold images, simplified forms and raw surface patterns and "helped create a national identity based on our rugged land while establishing a permanent place in the history of Canadian art and the hearts of Canadians."

The stamps were issued in souvenir sheet format featuring works of the seven original members and that of three new members. I have provided links to the McMichael Canadian Art Collection web site for a profile of each artist.

Original Members

Franklin Carmichael

 October Gold, 1922

Lawren Harris

 From the North Shore, 1923

A.Y. Jackson

Evening, Les Eboulements, 1932-33

Frank H. Johnston

Serenity, Lake of the Woods, 1922

Arthur Lismer

A September Gale, Georgian Bay, 1921

J.E.H. Macdonald

 Falls, Montreal River, 1920

Frederick Varley

Open Window, c. 1933

New Members

 Alfred J. Casson

Mill Houses, 1928

Lionel Fitzgerald

 Pembina Valley, 1923

 Edwin Holgate

 The Lumberjack, 1924